Pivot Post Update

M. Louisa Locke’s Victorian San Francisco Mystery series had me hooked from the beginning, but her success is due to more than just her talent as a writer. She’s graciously shared her 2015 marketing plan with us. We can learn a lot from this dynamic self-publisher.

M. Louisa Locke

550px-Balloons-aj.svgThis  report on how my plans for marketing in 2015 are working can be summed up in one word: Super. But for those who are interested––here is a little more detail.

Recap of Strategic Goals:

Recognizing that the Kindle Unlimited subscription service on Amazon was undermining the effectiveness of the Kindle Countdown 99 cent promotions for my books, I decided to:

  • take my 3 full-length novels in my Victorian San Francisco Mystery series (Maids of Misfortune, Uneasy Spirits, Bloody Lessons) and my short story collection (Victorian San Francisco Stories) out of KDP Select
  • upload these 4 books into other bookstores
  • make the first book in my series, Maids of Misfortune, perma-free
  • advertise Maids of Misfortune as free through a BookBub promotion.

By the middle of January I accomplished all of these goals.

  • I uploaded my 4 books to Apple, Nook, Kobo, Page Foundry…

View original post 925 more words

About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pivot Post Update

  1. charmibee says:

    Thanks Diana for sharing this valuable information. Amazon has a lot of writers confused
    when they first begin to sell. This gives some insight ahead of time.

  2. Liz Marshall says:

    This is the simplest plan I’ve ever seen, with proven results – I love it! Now I just have to write three more books . . .

  3. David Waid says:

    Thanks for passing this on, Diana. It is so helpful and interesting to see what is working for others.

  4. If you are a member of the Writer’s Market or have a subscription to the Writer’s Digest (something I would recommend for every writer), this month;s issue is all about marketing and self promotion! This blog post reds like an article from the magazine!

  5. Jack Flacco says:

    This certainly is a great marketing plan, for sure! Lots of work behind it all!

Leave a Reply

