MORE QUOTES FROM FAMOUS WRITERS

Can you identify with any of these?

********************************************************************

I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sounds they make as they fly by.  Douglas Adams

Finishing a book is just like you took a child out in the back yard and shot it.  Truman Capote

Nothing, not love, not greed, not passion or hatred, is stronger than a writer’s need to change another writer’s copy.  Arthur Evans

**********************************************************************

HAVE A GREAT WEEK-END!

COOKIE 1

 

 

About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to MORE QUOTES FROM FAMOUS WRITERS

  1. charmibee says:

    Finishing a book is maybe not so much like shooting that child, but sending it out into the cold cruel world after you’ve birthed it, nourished it and watched it grow.

  2. Liz M. says:

    He sure did, didn’t he! But the other two quotes are priceless!
    (Love the dog!)

  3. Liz M. says:

    Ugh, can I take out those exclamation points?

  4. Nope! Too late!! You’re stuck with them… forever!!!

  5. I should be so lucky to have a deadline! That would mean I had a publisher. Oh well…
    I feel like finishing a book is like sending your child out into the world without making sure he has all his buttons on his coat affixed properly–what kind of mother (writer) am I if my child (book) isn’t perfect?
    And I tend to read other peoples’ words and learn from them, not want to change them. What works? What doesn’t?

    Am I being contrary, Diana? 😉

    • Nope. Not a bit. If anyone is being contrary, it’s me, because I do tend to want other change other author’s words. But I also learn from them, too. My self-imposed deadlines swish by me all the time. And Truman Capote’s comment was so Capote-like, I had to include it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

