The Body Odd or Why I Disappeared for Three Months…

BLOND WOMAN COUGHING

The first thing I’m going to do when I get better is buy a new robe. This is UGLY.

After a three month hiatus, I’ve returned to the blogosphere. I wish I could say I’ve been busy doing something really interesting like backpacking the Himalayas or even working on my novel, but the truth is, I was coughing. I started coughing the beginning of October and didn’t stop until the end of the year.

It wasn’t a cold or flu or allergies. That would have been boring. Instead, after 59 years of cooperation, my esophagus decided it wanted to dance to its own music (the Twist, otherwise known as diffuse esophageal spasm) and little tasks like swallowing or talking without coughing my brains out, became almost impossible. And believe me, I need to keep all the brain cells I can. Fortunately, I’m doing a lot better now.

 Three months of inactivity can make it a challenge to get back into writing mode—I think my muse is still afraid she’ll catch something—but I’m getting there. Next week I’ll be reviewing The Housewife Assassin’s Handbook by Josie Brown. I didn’t read a lot while I was laid out on the couch sucking on cough drops, but her novel was entertaining enough to make me forget how miserable I was. I hope you’ll stop by to check it out.

In the meantime… HAVE A GREAT WEEK!!!

About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Body Odd or Why I Disappeared for Three Months…

  1. Liz M. says:

    Oh, no, Diana, that must have been HORRIBLE! I found this, see if it helps in case it comes back:
    http://www.topix.com/forum/health/T9KD47CQ33H508PFD

  2. zannyro says:

    Yikes! Glad you’re getting better!

  3. Glad you are back and feeling better!

  4. charmibee says:

    Diana, glad you are healing. Take heart, even while we’re lying around mending, the imagination is planting seeds.

  5. Jack Flacco says:

    My gosh, that sounds horrible what you went through. I can’t imagine always having to worry about my food going the wrong way. I’m glad you’re back to blogging, but to have gone through what you did–horrid! Keep getting better!

  6. We (Us) writers are a tender lot–vulnerable to all sorts of maladies. So sorry to hear about your contrary wind-pipe. And glad you’re getting better. May the rest of us who are down for the count be getting up soon…

    Sorry I can’t catch up on all of your posts–I’m just trying to make an effort to let you know I’m still alive, kicking, and thinking of you!

  7. Marcia says:

    Oh, Diana, I’m so sorry you’ve been out of commission with such an awful circumstance. Our bodies do betray us sometimes. Glad you’re on the mend and hope it doesn’t ever come back. Your muse will get more comfortable hanging out with you soon. Take care.

  8. Diana, so sorry you had to endure such an experience. I can’t imagine how painful and scary that would be. Glad to hear you are on the road to recovery. Continue to be gentle with yourself.

Leave a Reply

