My thanks go to Miss Locke for the information she shares with us. She cuts through the embellished claims (both positive and negative) and gives realistic advice on publishing with KDPSelect. If you’re considering this avenue, this is a must-read.

M. Louisa Locke

I haven’t posted for awhile on any topic, including on indie publishing, but that is because I have been working steadily on writing Bloody Lessons, the third book of my Victorian San Francisco Mystery series (if you want an update on my progress go check out my facbook page.) I also felt I had pretty much exhausted what I had to say on the ins and outs and pros and cons of using KDP Select.

However, with the change in Amazon’s rules for Associates, a whole discussion has erupted about what this means for indie authors. See this balanced review of some aspects of the discussion. See, in addition, this good overview of the issues around free as a selling strategy and Amazon. One result of this change and subsequent posts about it is I have had a number of requests to comment on whether or not this means that…

View original post 2,440 more words

About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. I decided not to go this way because it was exclusive for the first 90 days. Maybe that was a mistake. Sales from Smashwords have been tepid at best… I’ll go read this. Thanks, Diana.

  2. It’s hard to know what’s best. I try to learn what I can from those who are doing well–like M. Louisa Locke–but the same advice doesn’t work for everyone. I think genre has a lot to do with it, too. In traditional publishing, it takes 12-18 months from the time you sign the contract to the time it’s actually published. I’ve given myself that same period of time to get a handle on marketing and making a decent profit.
    I’ve thought about Smashwords but want to give KDP Select another 6 months before I try anything new. Whatever you decide to do, just remember that it might take awhile.
    Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

