Self-Publishing on Amazon #6, Links and Lighting Up the Blogosphere!

O.M.G. I’m doing it again. I’ve given you a page full of links. How exciting is that? It may not be exciting but if you plan on marketing an e-book on Amazon or anywhere else, you should hang onto these links for future reference.

http://www.deanwesleysmith.com/?p=7938

http://www.indieauthornews.com/2012/07/twitter-tips-for-authors.html

http://ebook-reader-vergleich.org/promoting-ebooks-with-kdpselect.html

http://mlouisalocke.com/2012/08/08/my-brief-experiment-going-off-kdp-select-at-least-i-got-this-nifty-blog-piece-out-of-it/

Below, I’ve listed the Twitter sites I used to promote The Bewitching Hour when I did the KDP free promotion.

@FreeReadFeed, @Kindlenews, @KindleDailyDeal, @DIGITALinktoday @Kindle_promo, @4FreeKindleBook, @VBookshelf, @havebookdeal, @sawbookkindle, @booksffree

I had over 5,000 downloads during my promotion. (not bad, but not fantastic) There are tons of Twitter sites that will promote e-books, but I don’t feel comfortable listing any that I haven’t personally used. I currently have a list of 60 sites to look into. My plan is to divide them into groups. Sites who only promote freebies. Sites who promote freebies and bargains. Sites who only promote paid e-books. And sites that do reviews. Then I’ll come up with a marketing plan/schedule. The trick is to keep titles in the public eye without bombarding potential buyers and turning them off forever. For the past couple of years, e-book sales have jumped during the first three months after Christmas. Considering that gift cards, e-readers and tablets are popular Christmas gifts, it makes sense. I’ll be reporting as I go along, on what I’m doing, what seems to work and what doesn’t. I’ll probably throw in a little voo-doo magic, too. Hey, it can’t hurt.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Most Thursdays are reserved for Lighting Up the Blogosphere. It’s a way of putting some positive energy into what is so often a negative world. I’ve been posting warm and fuzzy animal pics most of the time because that’s what does it for me. I’ve always had pets and if you’ve followed my blog for a while, you know about Herbie, the little green parrot whose spent most of his days perched on my shoulder, pooping down my back, jabbering in my ear and ruling the world. Sadly, the little guy had a stroke about three weeks ago and I had to have him euthanized. While there isn’t anything positive about losing a family pet that you love, what happened while I was at the vet’s office made me realize how amazing our relationships with our feathered and furry friends can be.

Like many veterinarian offices, ours has a couple of resident cats–a tortoise-shell and a tabby. These two have taken aloof to new heights. Humans don’t exist in their world. Only cats. After Herbie passed, I left the surgery feeling completely devastated and went back to the exam room where my friend, Gia, was waiting for me. (she drove because she’s my bff, knew I would be a mess, and that’s what bff’s do)  The tabby was sitting in my chair, demanding to be petted and the tortoise-shell was right behind me, rubbing against my ankles and purring like crazy. That tiny bit of unexpected feline affection brought a moment of comfort when I was reeling with loss and grief. Our vet and her assistant were completely shocked. She said that they’d never gone to anyone before. Ever. I can’t explain it, other than the Universe works in mysterious ways.  Sometimes, all we have to do is pay attention.

To learn more about Lighting Up the Blogosphere go to http://souldipper.wordpress.com

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in Self-publishing on Kindle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Self-Publishing on Amazon #6, Links and Lighting Up the Blogosphere!

  1. Liz M. says:

    Sorry, Diana, I know you and Herbie had a difficult relationship, but I know you were as attached to him as he was to you. So cool about the cats! They were probably congratulating you on finally getting rid of that bird! (Their words, not mine! I LOVED that bird.)

    Thank you for the information, and I’m following in your path, so keep us up to date.

  2. Char Bishop says:

    It takes a lot of hours to gather these kinds of valuable resource. When I e-publish, can I put you in my “Thanks to…” page? Thanks to our trailblazer!

  3. RIP Herbie.
    It’s funny how animals can sense when we need them. I think there’s a lot more intelligence there than we humans give credit for.
    On another topic: love the new header, so pretty.

  4. David Waid says:

    Great post on both fronts. Really helpful links, stashed away for when I am at that point, and a very touching story about Herbie and the cats. Thanks, Diana.

  5. So sorry about your loss. Our teacup Yorkie passed a few months ago and it crushed us. We rescued her from an abusive home and tried to give her as much love as we could before she died. RIP Herbie and sincerest condolences, Diana.

    • Thank you. We had a Yorkie (he was a 10 pounder) years ago. He was a bit high-strung but very loving. We’ve just adopted a rescue schnauzer/chihuahua mix. We’ve never had such a quiet dog. I expect that will change once she gets used to us,

  6. Thanks so much for all the info, and thanks for sharing your critter story. So sorry about your bird, our pet friends impact our lives more than we know sometimes. What an interesting encounter with the cats. I’m convinced pets have extrasensory abilities to sense emotions that we humans have lost or dulled ourselves to. And animals also know when you are a pet person and will behave accordingly. All my sympathies.

  7. Marcia says:

    Oh, so sorry about Herbie, Diana. I know how hard that must have been for you. What angels those cats were! They must have sensed a sincere loss and needed to let you know they understand and feel for you…even though, were he alive, they might have wanted to have their way with Herbie…LOL.
    Thanks for taking the time to share those links and twitter sites. I’m bookmarking this because every bit of advice and every referral is worth its weight in gold! Have a fun weekend!

  8. Another great post! Sorry I’m so late in responding. I had a pile of emails in my inbox! 😉

  9. That’s fine. I know how they pile up when you miss a few days.

  10. Lafemmeroar says:

    Thanks for the links. Sharing this on the Lafemmeroar FB page 🙂

Leave a Reply

