Tagging, Tattooes and Time Travel

I’ve been sadly remiss over the past few weeks. I’ve been tagged for various blogging awards and games that I haven’t responded to. My mother, who was very much a lady, would be horrified. Rudeness wasn’t tolerated in our home and ignoring an invitation or award for anything is unpardonably rude.  My only excuse is that I’ve been a little dizzy lately and Dramamine is not conducive to creativity and clear-headed thinking.

I’ve been tagged for The Look Challenge by fellow writer and blogger Karen Einsel @ http://differentcornersinmylife.blogspot.com/  and I have decided to tackle that one first. It looks like fun and gives us writers the opportunity to do a little shameless promoting of our manuscripts while we’re at it. Here’s the way it works: You take your current manuscript and find the first instance of the word “look”. Then you post the surrounding paragraphs as an excerpt of the book on your blog. Lastly, you tag five more blogging authors who you think might be a good choice for the game.

Here goes

An excerpt from The Tattooed Angel… A Time Travel

He stared into the fire. “Her wounds… You’re certain they came from her fall?”

“Her wounds are not Christopher’s handiwork,” she said. “He’s still in Newgate. They would not set him free. But even if they had, her injuries were caused by branches and stones. There were many cuts, some deep, but no knife wounds. I’ve seen enough to know. They have a different look about them.”

He ran his palm over the dark stubble of his chin. “And she will recover?”

The old woman shrugged. “Her chances are good though I’ll make no promises. I applied a poultice to her wounds, but if infection sets in she could well take a turn for the worse. The heavy breeches she wore gave her some protection though the one side was in tatters.

“Her clothing was.” Unable to come up with the right word he waved his hand in the air. “Most peculiar.”

She chuckled. “Aye. That it was. And that’s not the half of it. I cut the breeches from her but later discovered there was a metal device with a tab at the waist that when lowered, widened the waist enough to pull them off. Though drenched as she was, it would have been a struggle. The same mechanism was on the pouch she wore around her waist. I found it most intriguing.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

The five authors I hope will participate are

http://lornasvoice.com/

http://marciaarichards.com/

http://cynthiarobertson.wordpress.com/

http://kristinnador.wordpress.com/

http://hawleyville.wordpress.com/

Drop by tomorrow and we’ll Light Up the Blogosphere!

About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tagging, Tattooes and Time Travel

  1. Char Bishop says:

    How fun! A terrific way to have a taste of some of these books. And you are NOT rude (your Mother would understand :-).)

  2. Marcia says:

    I agree, you are NOT rude! So, yes, Diana, I’m in! I’ll post on my blog tomorrow http://marciaarichards.com. Love your excerpt! Now I want to find out what happens when this girl recovers and where she landed!

  3. Cool! I’m looking forward to your excerpt.

  4. Thanks, Diana.
    Loved that piece from your time-travel novel!

  5. Great piece from your novel, Diana. This is a wonderful idea to get people interested in what you’re writing! I’m up for the challenge…if only to see where I first used the word “look.” 😉

    Thanks for thinking of me!

  6. Thanks, I’m glad you liked it.
    You gotta love the find button in Word. It makes looking for look so much easier.

  7. Love the excerpt! Hi Diana! Rude? You? Never.

  8. I loved your excerpt, it really intrigues me, and I want to find out what happens next. Your writing style is really engaging. 🙂

  9. Pingback: How Was I Supposed To Know? Wanna Take a Look? « Lorna's Voice

  10. Pingback: Getting Back To Blogging With The Look Challenge | kristin nador writes anywhere

Leave a Reply

