The Masquerade Crew: An end to the ebook price-fixing case: what do you think?

The Masquerade Crew: An end to the ebook price-fixing case: what do you think?.

Unless you’ve just woken from a 36 month coma, you know that publishing is going through radical changes. Human nature being what it is, we don’t seem to be able to experience change without conflict and I have to confess that I’m sooo… tired of the ongoing battle. You know, the whole Big 6 versus Amazon, traditional versus indie, paper versus electronic, and so on… It’s draining and has gotten much too nasty for my taste. Do we have to be so freakin’ judgemental about it? Really? I’ve never enjoyed combat, I hate rudeness, and at present, both are in plentiful supply in the world of publishing. Can’t everyone just behave themselves?

Now that I’ve had my little outburst, I’ll get back to the original question. Was the judgement appropriate? In my mind, yes, but I’m not an attorney. I’ve based my opinion on what seems fair (not necessarily the best tool for deciding if something follows the letter of the law) rather than how the laws are written.

What do you think?

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Masquerade Crew: An end to the ebook price-fixing case: what do you think?

  1. molly says:

    Hi Diana … just back from sojourn – caught up with your blog and have you been a busy bumblebee! Beaut covers for your novels, congratulations, cheeers catchul8r molly

  2. Good morning Diana. Hope your weekend is wonderful so far. I gave you a blog award. Find it here on my blog http://karensdifferentcorners.wordpress.com/2012/09/03/the-fabulous-blog-ribbon/

  3. Diana, Thanks for the link, because I didn’t know anything about this. I wondered why some e-books were priced higher than others, and thought that it had to do with newer releases or popularity. Now I see that the whole thing was something more nefarious. I should have known–but my naive approach to all things makes me assume the best.

    I’m glad the conspiracy to set prices was exposed and ended. I’m not much of a capitalist, but I certainly believe that, if there is going to be competition, if should be fair.

  4. Since I’m self-publishing, I’m doing as much research as I can. I figure the more I learn about the industry, the less apt I’ll be to screw up.
    BTW my little rant was based on a comment by Sue Grafton who said “self-published authors are too lazy to do the hard work.” She’s since backed down and claims she meant no insult, but really? Lazy? How is that not an insult?

Leave a Reply

