It’s Thursday! Time to Light Up the Blogosphere 8/9/2012

If everything isn’t perfect, I’ll just curl up
and die!

I’ve spent the past couple of weeks a tiny bit stressed. There’s a lot to do when you self-publish (as well as publish traditionally) two novels at once and it all seems to pile up at the end. Especially when you decide to start second-guessing yourself.  I changed my covers at the last minute, wrote my blurbs, then rewrote my blurbs–even argued with my best friend over my blurbs–and rewrote them again and so on… I read through both books again (230,000 words total) on the hunt for more errors, even though they’ve already been edited. Twice. I also perused a couple of books on converting my manuscripts from word to html so they could be e-published, and then asked myself… What are you thinking? You still haven’t figured out  how to add widgets to your blog. I pride myself on being a pretty decent writer, but techno-geek? Not so much. So I sent them off to someone who knows her stuff. I should get them back in a few days, but until then, I can relax. And get my nails done. And maybe clean my house.

So what’s the message in this slightly neurotic confession of a less than perfect control freak?

We live in an imperfect world and we all make mistakes. Strive for quality, but remember that perfection isn’t an attainable or even a worthwhile goal.

You can’t do everything yourself. Sometimes you have to back off and let someone who knows more than you do take over.

If someone will hand me the phone, I’ll call the plumber.

Reward yourself occasionally. For me, it was getting my nails done. It’s not a big splurge, but to sit in a chair for an hour and not have to think about anything or do anything was wonderful. She even massaged my hands. It was worth the 25 bucks just for that.

I’m pretty sure I was supposed to pick up the kids about 20 minutes ago. Hmmm. Let ’em walk.

To learn more about Lighting Up the Blogosphere go to:

http://souldipper.wordpress.com

Have a great week!!!!!!!

photo from the Positivity Toolbox

About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in books, e-books, fiction, historical fiction, laughter, readers, Self-publishing, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s Thursday! Time to Light Up the Blogosphere 8/9/2012

  1. Char Bishop says:

    Women are expected to know how to do everything, be everything to everyone, and have all the answers. Same with writers.

  2. When we start expecting it of ourselves is when we’re in trouble.

  3. Oh Diana, I’ve been waiting for your books! I’m glad to hear that they are in final stages of completion, but you’re scaring the begeebers out of me. Oh well, better the demon you know, right?

    Great messages and wonderful pictures and captions–love the call for the plumber!

  4. Once they’re on Amazon & I start the next phase (marketing) I’ll let you know how it goes. Have you started your 2nd draft yet?

  5. Marcia says:

    Ooh, a massage! I really need one. It’s been sooo long! Or a facial! yes, that’s it! I’ll treat myself to a facial AND a massage and I’ll take my daughter with me….that is, when I’m done with my 4 projects. I’m glad you splurged on yourself, Diana. I think it’s an important part of the process. A reward for hard work. Good luck with your books! Can’t wait to read them!

  6. molly says:

    Love the seagull hitching a ride, waytogo! Know what you mean, I’m constantly curbing my urge to perfect – Thanks for the timely reminder, Diana, I’ll just ‘let it be’, cheers catchul8r molly

  7. souldipper says:

    I certainly relate, Diana. Was it like handing over your baby?

    I’ve done Newsletters in the past. I also did the Anglican Church bulletin for a few years. No one contributed or thanked me for doing this fun jobs. No one mentioned my turn of phrase or unique analogy, but, believe me, I certainly heard about the errors. No matter how carefully I proofread my work, I would overlook some silly error. It used to burn me until I realized I was giving perfectionists something to do as they combed my work for errors. I decided if it was keeping those folks off the backs of their family for an hour, I had a mission! 😀

Leave a Reply

