It’s Thursday! Time to Light Up the Blogosphere! 7/12/12

For the past couple of weeks, Mother Nature has confused Lighting Up the Blogosphere with Heating Up the Atmosphere. It can be hard to stay positive when temperatures reach the danger zone and you know your next electric bill could top out at $500. This is the price those of us living in the low desert of Arizona pay for mild winters, awe-inspiring sunsets, the scent of orange blossoms in the Spring, and the opportunity to call up our friends who live in the northeast and mention our delightful 70 degree weather while they’re in the process of hauling out their snow shovels.

The trick is learning how to deal with the high temperatures.  Rule #1 Don’t set foot outside your house without water. #2 If you park your vehicle outside, keep the steering wheel and seatbelt buckles covered with towels to avoid second degree burns.  #3 Don’t go off and leave your kid (or anyone) in your car. #4 Eat a lot of popcicles–my personal favorite. #5 Don’t let your little one’s (both two and four legged) stay outside in the heat, though a supervised dip in the pool is just fine.

Zeus knows this is tons better than catching Frisbees!

#6 And if the heat is really getting to you, take a nap on a bed of crushed ice!

We aren’t the only ones dealing with excessive heat this summer.

I’ve never given much thought to what Lady Liberty had beneath her robes, but if I had a body like this, I would have dropped my robe a long time ago!

Thanks to my fellow-blogger, Cynthia http://cynthiarobertson.wordpress.com for letting me use her photo of Zeus. He’s so darn cute, I think I’d dognap him if I could get away with it.

If you’re interested in learning more about Lighting Up the Blogosphere and how to give our planet a shot of posivtive energy every Thursday, go to http://souldipper.wordpress.com/

Stay cool, be safe, and have a great week!!!

About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in cats and dogs, laughter, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s Thursday! Time to Light Up the Blogosphere! 7/12/12

  1. Marcia says:

    WOW! 114! We have 90 and very humid here in the Northeast today. I miss the dryness of Vegas, but that same dryness drove my allergy-afflicted head crazy! I’m hoping you only have heat this bad a couple months of the year.I would imagine the rest of the year to be fairly comfortable in comparison, aside from the dust storms. Anyway, stay in. Stay cool!

  2. I got up at 12:30 last night, just so I could enjoy the rain! Why can’t it do that during the day?!
    Zeus says thanks for the spotlight 🙂

  3. Kana Tyler says:

    It’s “only” getting up to 105 in the Boise area this week, but my hubby’s work-station last night (dinner chef at a local drive-in) was up to 118… He texted me a photo of his meat-thermometer in the middle of his shift, yikes! Needless to say, he was up most of the night trying to rehydrate and fighting off leg-cramps. That heat-warning is no joke! I should recommend Zeus’s remedy to him. 😉

  4. I would think working in a hot, steamy kitchen could get pretty miserable, but 118? Whoa. What a trooper!

  5. hawleywood40 says:

    Enjoyed catching up on your blog during my lunch break today – and I could especially relate to this one as we are 100 degrees and muggy here in Baltimore : )!

Leave a Reply

