Chicken Little Was Right

I work pretty hard at keeping a positive outlook on life, but this past week has been frustrating. Part of it’s my own doing. I suck at technology. When something would go wrong with my laptop, I’d throw my hands in the air and do a pretty good imitation of Chicken Little screaming “The sky is falling! The sky is falling!” Eventually, someone would come to my rescue and get it running again. For a while.

I’ve never had a very good relationship with my laptop. From the day we brought it home, it’s been lazy, temperamental and when it decided it didn’t want to work which was pretty often, it would either freeze or just shut down. It taunted me with the words NOT RESPONDING, didn’t like the printer and turned up it’s nose at updates. I got tired of doing the Chicken Little imitation so when it died last week I decided I was done. I would no longer seek out life support for the little monster. I would use my ten-year-old desktop for Internet research and writing and my husband’s MAC on the week-end for everything else. It wasn’t a convenient scenario, but was doable for a short period of time. Unless the desktop decided to die, too. But what were the chances of two computers kicking off within one week? Pretty damn good. Chicken Little was right. The sky fell.

I had bitched and moaned the week before because our Internet went down for a few days and my Kodak EasyShare program decided to act up. That was nothing. I just went four days without access to any computer. It’s been rough. I think my husband was a little worried that I might not make it, but I survived. I’ll have my husband’s MAC for the week-end, but that’s not a practical long-term solution so we’re dishing out the unexpected expense for another computer. It could have been worse–at least I had everything backed up. It’s actually kind of a relief. I won’t have to fight with it anymore. Life will be good. My new computer will be awesome.

Until I’m up and running… Have a great week!

About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in readers, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chicken Little Was Right

  1. I wondered why you put up with that pesky little beast for so long.
    I’m right with ya though. My ancient laptop weighs something like 25 punds, and its slow and refuses to update. The browser is old and poky. Getting diasbled like I’ve been these past two weeks, when a fully functional laptop would’ve made the difference between sheer bordom, or some cheerfully stoned on pain-killers writing and blogging from the couch, has made me realize I can’t put off the inevitable any longer. Soon as I’m on my feet again I’m shopping for a new one!
    Let me know if you find any good deals. 😉

  2. Barbara Hart says:

    Love..love..love your “chicken little” tale! I can empathize w/the technology frustration-I feel like I am constantly deleting or aborting prematurely! Take heart…it’s not April Fool’s Day yet! Somewhat belated…I THANK YOU FOR YOUR FOLLOW!..

  3. You’re welcome! Same here!

  4. Most of us know all too well this love-hate relationship we have with our computers (or do they have it with us?). May your next computer be one that is less persnickety!

  5. Marcia says:

    I hope by now you have your new laptop and are humming along with a smile on your face. Smart girl, backing up. My laptop needs some attention but for the most part works well. Heavier than I’d like, but as soon as I get a book published and make a little money with it, I’m buying a new one or an iPad as a backup.
    Good luck with it!

  6. molly says:

    One of my skillsets is IT – the training was virtually thrown in my lap, so I shrugged and gave it a go, in retrospect, thank goodness I did. Those early days of learning MAC and MS-DOS systems admin, platforms/environments, gui, etc, well, the sky was falling for sure! Urgh, bloody frustrating, so I do understand Diana, cheers catchul8r molly

Leave a Reply

