Lost on Wii-Island

 Not All Who Wander are Lost.  I’ve always loved that phrase. It allows me to delude myself into thinking that I’m not severely directionally challenged, but simply free-spirited.  I wander for the joy of wandering. I adore seeing new sights and experiencing new experiences. Life is a journey. The trip along the way is so much more important than the final destination.

The truth is–I get lost. All the time. My compass is broken. Literally smashed to smithereens. There are days when I can’t find my way out of the parking lot. Seriously. The next time you see a small, blonde lady wandering the grocery store parking lot with a slightly panicked expression on her face because the ice cream in her cart is beginning to melt, it’s probably me looking for my  car. There have been times I thought I would die of exposure before I could figure out where I parked.

Last week, I got lost on Wii-Island. A friend of mine and  I decided we were going to whip our middle-aged bodies into shape so she bought Wi-Fit.  It’s SO MUCH FUN. My favorite is the bicycle. The idea is to ride around and locate the thirteen flags planted on Wii-Island. It even has a little map at the bottom of the screen to help you find your way around. It took me three times as long as it should have because I got lost. I couldn’t find the flags, got stuck in the city four times and didn’t know how to get out. I crashed into walls, trees and buildings and fell into the sea. The adrenaline rush was awesome incredible. I had such a good time that when I finally stopped laughing I went and did it all over again. I guess this proves that getting lost can occasionally be fun.

See what a few weeks on Wi-Island can do for you!

Sometimes, getting lost isn’t a bit enjoyable. I spent most of the past two weeks lost in a world of words and ideas. I was working on a novel I was trying to finish (My self-imposed deadline was Oct. 31. That’s 2011, so I missed it.) I knew where I was going but wasn’t quite sure how to get there. I don’t know how many hours I worked on it before the answer was staring me in the face. That journey wasn’t as much fun as getting lost on Wii-Island, but in the end, it was much more rewarding. My plan is to have it ready to edit by the end of the month.

Next week, I’ll begin posting excerpts from Kept Secrets, the book that was inspired by my Adventures in Hoarding experience. I hope you like them.

Until then, Have a Great Week!

About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in e-books, fiction, laughter, readers, Self-publishing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Lost on Wii-Island

  1. Ty Hutchinson says:

    Pictures! Where are the pictures of said person biking?

  2. Marie Guidry says:

    I’m glad you came clean. When you started this article with the “All who wander are not lost” bit I became worried you were suffering from grand delusions. I am getting too old for you to scare me like that!

    i

  3. Char Bishop says:

    We’re never really lost–the Universe has a plan and is re-directing us :-). That’s my excuse when I get lost.

  4. Is that why my GPS is constantly saying “Recalculating. Recalculating. Recalculating.”

  5. AH, getting lost in the comfort of your home–the best of all worlds. And you do look smashing in that fancy swimsuit! 🙂

  6. Thanks. I got it at Macy’s.

  7. Should we sew tags in the collars of all your clothes: Return to This Address If Found?

  8. I’d never thought of that. Do you know how to sew?

  9. molly says:

    There are klutzes like this on the loose in life … couldn’t find their way outta an empty paper bag, Tags in y’collars is a beaut idea – goforit! “Kept Secret” is a top title for a novel inspired by your hoarding adventures, Diana, cheers catchul8r molly

  10. molly says:

    AND another thing… will be looking, looking looking for next week’s post for that promised excerpt from “Kept Secrets” cheers catchul8r molly

Leave a Reply

