I Resolve to Run Five Miles a Day, Write at Least Four Best Sellers, Become a Millionaire and Clean Out My Pantry

To be honest, we haven’t partied on New Year’s Eve in a long time. We’re lucky if we can manage to stay awake long enough to ring the big bell in our back yard at midnight. This year we’ll do pretty much what we always do. We’ll sit on the couch and wonder where the year went, sip a little sparkling wine and fall asleep by 12:30. Then on New Year’s day we’ll have ham, cornbread and blackeyed peas because it’s a proven fact that if you’re from the south, you must have cornbread and blackeyed peas on Jan. 1 or your year will suck. I swear. Ask anyone. I’m happy with the way we celebrate. It’s cheap, it’s easy and I don’t wake up with a headache.

Here we are, waiting for that magical moment when everything is new and all things are possible. I’m the one smiling. My husband is the one with the wicked gleam in his eyes.  

I may not party but I do make resolutions. I just try not to make them too difficult to achieve. For years, my New Year’s Resolutions were nearly always the same. (a) Clean out my refrigerator. (b) Clean out my pantry. (c) Clean out my closet.  I was guaranteed not to fail because at some point during the year, those three things would happen.

This year is different. Partly, because I completed resolutions a, b & c during the month of November. Mostly, because there are some things I HAVE to do and writing them down as New Year’s resolutions seems like a good way to get me headed in the right direction.

My first resolution isn’t unique, but it’s important. I need to get moving.  Sitting on my butt in front of the computer all day does unattractive and unhealthy things to my body. I’m not going to run five miles a day. My right knee doesn’t care for high impact activities. But I used to work out at the gym faithfully three times a week and there’s no reason why I can’t do it again.

My second resolution is to get my frigging incredibly wonderful and compelling novels completed, edited & on Amazon. Two are done. Two are almost done. And three more are on the back burner, waiting for my brain cells to turn up the heat. This year, it’s gonna happen because I’m not giving myself a choice.

$$$. Most of us would like to be millionaires. In fact, I’m fairly sure the only people who don’t want to be millionaires are billionaires. I really don’t need to be a millionaire. I’m relatively frugal. (My family might even say I’m cheap) I don’t feel the need to go out and buy a bunch of stuff, ’cause I already have a bunch of stuff. I would settle for having enough $$ socked away to feel financially secure. So, make more, spend less is the plan.

The All Important O. Ha! I’m probably not talking about what you think I’m talking about. I’m talking about organization. It doesn’t come naturally to me. I have to work at it. Since I’ve already cleaned and organized my pantry, refrigerator and closet, all I have left to do is everything else in my house. I’ll settle for organizing my work area and computer files. I spend way too much time searching for things which really cuts into my productivity.

Considering that my resolutions are get in shape, make more $$ and get organized, I’m not feeling very original. But there are other things on my list:   Recognize opportunities when they come my way. Stay focused. Learn to say no, when I need to say no. Light papers every week. (Read my August post Life is What You Make It if you don’t know what lighting papers is. This is a clever way to get you to go through my archives.) Stay focused. Strive for serenity. Stay positive and reject negativity. Be kind. Stay focused. And most important–Be grateful for my family (they’re awesome), my friends (they’re also awesome) and my awesome fellow writers, bloggers, twitterers, facebookers, critique partners and others who reach out and touch the world in their own way, even when they’d rather sit on the couch and stare at the television in a semi-comatose trance. Oh, yeah. Find alternative words to awesome. It’s a perfectly good word, but I need a little more variety in my positive words vocabulary. If you have any suggestions, let me know.

So far, this post has pretty much been all about me. My original plan was to do a little surfing and find some clever New Year’s witticisms that weren’t all about me, to end it with. It turns out I didn’t have to search any further than my Facebook account. My stepdaughter who has both a big heart and giving spirit (I told you my family was awesome) posted this on her Facebook wall and I thought it said everything that needed saying.

 I would like to wish each of my friends and family members a very Happy New Year. May God bless you all, may you find your passion, may there be someone in your life that loves you like you love them and may you never lose your zest for life. Make good memories….that really is all you leave behind after you are gone!!! Much love and gratitude….

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO EACH & EVERYONE!!!

I’m nosey–What are your resolutions this year?

About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I Resolve to Run Five Miles a Day, Write at Least Four Best Sellers, Become a Millionaire and Clean Out My Pantry

  1. Trish says:

    Love the picture! A charming couple. :o)
    I don’t have resolutions – that sounds too intimidating. Instead, I have “intentions” for the coming year. I posted them around the house and in my cubicle at work: 1. Meditate every morning; 2. Exercise every day (preferably with puppy Sally); 3. Submit Chasm Creek to 10 agents every month; 4. Do what brings joy: be outdoors, pet the dogs, and write, write, write, write, write. (Notice none of these, except No. 3, have any specifics as to amount, time, length, results, etc. That makes it a little easier.)

  2. I like your intentions–especially (4). Sometimes we forget to do the things that bring us joy. I’m happy writing brings you joy because those of us who are reading your novel enjoy it so much.
    Happy New Year!

  3. Marcia says:

    Splendid, fabulous, fantastic, amazing, wondrous, superb! I’m with you–I use awesome WAY too much! I love your list of resolutions. I want to copy you, they’re so good and mean as much to me as they must mean to you.
    You made me laugh, Diana, thanks! And, by the way, I think you’re pretty awesome! Gotta go kiss my husband and say Happy New Year. Happy New Year to you and i wish you all the best!

    • Thanks for your positive word suggestions! I think I’m going to make a list and keep adding to it until I can’t think of any more. I wish you the best, as well. I didn’t get to kiss my husband this New Year’s Eve because, believe it or not, he came down with pink-eye. It’s better now, but what a way to start the year!

  4. Very realistic goals–the only kind you’re apt to achieve. And love, love, love the picture of the old couple. Made me chuckle! 🙂

  5. Did you notice the little bells in the background? Very festive!

  6. hawleywood40 says:

    I need an alternative word for “awesome” too – I say it way too much! Goals don’t have to be original in and of themselves, as long as the way you go about meeting them is “your way” and makes you happy! I share that “more $$$” goal with you to this year, and I’m hoping that some of it comes from writing. Happy New Year!

  7. mollyy says:

    Happy New Year Diana – joy, blessings, love and laughter to you and your loved ones … your stepdaughter’s new year wishes are perfect and in synch with my new year resolution which just happens to be to “make good memories” cheers catchul8r molly

Leave a Reply

