Weak Coffee, Bird Barf and Dinosaurs

Today has been one of those days. Nothing major–just a series of little inconveniences. I overslept, woke up with a slight headache and had to make a second pot of coffee because the first one was too weak and I don’t drink wimpy coffee. Then I turned on my laptop and a message popped up telling me that my battery wasn’t at optimum strength and needed to be replaced. Since I was pretty sure my laptop would explode if I tried to use it, I went upstairs to use the dinosaur desktop to publish my blog. But before I could get started, Herbie decided to regurgitate on me. In birdland, it’s a sign of affection. Seriously. Birds don’t have hands to carry home the groceries to their families, so they are known to swallow their food and then bring it back up to feed their mates or children. He was serving me breakfast. Very sweet, but I had already eaten. And this little act of kindness meant I had to take the time to clean-up and go change my clothes.

When I finally got back to my older-than-dirt desktop, I slid in the cd of photos I was planning to use for my blog and viola! Nothing but hieroglyphics. My system is evidently too old to read the photos my husband had burned for me on his Mac just before he and his Mac left for work. As I said, it’s been one of those day.

So what’s a blogger with a P.O.S. outdated, barely functioning computer system to do? I decided to go online and look for inspiration to make my day better.  This is what I found.

                   LIFE DOESN’T GET MUCH BETTER THAN THIS!                        

                                               HAVE A GREAT DAY!

About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weak Coffee, Bird Barf and Dinosaurs

  1. That photo was worth the extra effort. Makes me want to get a kitten again. =)
    Time to begin shopping for a new desktop? Or at the very least a new laptop battery.

    • Yeah. Would you believe a new laptop battery runs $150? I’ve got to get rid of Vista, too.
      And I’m glad you liked the kitty photo, unlike Eric who lives to cause trouble. I may pour red ink all over his next submission just to get even.

  2. Eric says:

    Who would shoot a cute little kitty like that?

    Great post: A dead kitty and a barfing bird!

  3. molly says:

    Great post title, Diana – $150 is exhorbitant for a laptop battery, u-n-l-e-s-s it has 6 cells and lasts around 5-6 years, b-u-t after 6 years … well, we’re back to dinosaurs, cheers catchul8r molly

  4. Lafemmeroar says:

    Oh my gosh, what a cute kitty 🙂

    I’ve had to replace the battery on my notebook twice and I used it until the battery was practically non-existent–I just kept it plugged.

    • Fortunately, we were eventually able to find a battery for $50–I have a very persistant husband. What I don’t understand is why the laptop wouldn’t let me use it even when it was plugged in. Thanks for signing up for my blog!

Leave a Reply

