Halloween Came Early This Year

Last week, we got a new roof. Woohoo! We also had the water damage on our ceilings fixed. Another woohoo! I spent most of last week sequestered in our family room because the walls, the doorways and practically everything we own was covered in plastic sheeting. No woohoos for that one.

And I suffered alone. My husband worked out of town that week and he was able to experience the joys of a comfortable bed, a full bathtub & shower, a dresser with drawers he could open and a working television. I shared a room with my parrot, slept on an uncomfortable mattress, made do with a shower (I prefer a tub) and three changes of clothing. The satellite for the TV was disconnected while they worked on the roof and I couldn’t get to my desktop computer, the printer/scanner and external hard drives because they were all wrapped up in plastic.

I spent most of my time on my laptop or Kindle, listening to the hammering on the roof and the singing of one of the unseen painters who were busy on the other side of the plastic.  The songs were all in Spanish so I didn’t have a clue what I was listening to, but he had a nice voice and I enjoyed it. When they would leave for lunch I would venture out of my little coccoon to see what progress was being made. It could have been the paint fumes, but once I was on the other side the of plastic I felt as if I had stepped into another world. It was surreal. Ghostly. Ethereal. The perfect setting for a night of supernatural shenanigans and out of body experiences. I decided I had to share it with you.

Anyone in the mood for a ghost story?

About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Halloween Came Early This Year

  1. totsymae1011 says:

    Sorry to hear about the water plunging through your rooftop but I have to say, those are some eery photos you have there. Looks a bit dreamy, surreal. Good photo work.

  2. Wow, I had no idea THIS kind of craziness was going on over there. When you said you were getting your house reroofed I thought you meant just retiled. Hope the insurance paid for at least some of this damage.
    Isn’t that just a man’s luck, to get to go away when the odious stuff hits? Seems it always works out that way at our house too. 🙂

  3. molly says:

    Too right, perfectly staged for an eeeerie short story or one act play, Diana, weave in the Spanish singer, totally unaware of terror transpiring below … cheers, catchul8r molly

  4. I love taking a little piece of life and turning it into a story. The ideas are already swirling in my head.

  5. Julie Musil says:

    Oh my goodness, I can’t believe all you’ve had to go through! But you’re right, all that plastic does send a spooky vibe. I’m glad the repairs are done, and you’ve made it through that tough time.

    • I ended up with a new roof, popcorn-free, stain-free, leak-free ceilings and some very cool pictures. The results were worth it, though I’m not sure you could have convinced me of that last week.

  6. hawleywood40 says:

    Wow – I can’t remember which one, but it really does remind me of the setting of a spooky movie I saw once! Congrats on the new roof and the leaklessness : )!

Leave a Reply

