Which Way Do You Swing?

Now that I have your attention I have to confess that my question doesn’t refer to anything as controversial as sexual preference or politics or religion, but that gray, spongy mass that hangs out in your skull and directs the traffic of your everyday living. I’m talking about your brain. Do you swing left? Or do you swing right? We all use both sides, but most of us have a preference when we problem solve or make a decision.

At one time, many scientists believed that if you were right-brain dominant, you tended to be left-handed and vice-versa. They’ve pretty well thrown that theory out the window. They also thought that we only used about ten percent of our brain. That one got tossed out the window, too. It seems that we use all of our brain, but have various nooks and crannys that we use for different types of thinking.

Don’t know which side of the gray matter you favor? Left-brain thinkers tend to be logical, analytical, rational and sequential in their thinking. They look at the parts before they can see the whole picture. Are you good at math and science? Can you think on your feet and easily express yourself verbally? It’s likely you favor the left. Our educational system is geared toward left-brain thinking, but I won’t get started on that because you don’t want to hear me rant.

Right-brain thinkers tend to be more creative, but are often more random in their thinking. (Some right-brain thinker/writers even write their chapters out of order because they don’t seem to be able to help themselves.) They’re frequently guided by intuition, by aesthetics and the five senses. They learn best visually and tend to see the whole picture before they can see the parts. Musicians, writers, artist tend to fall into this category.

If you’re still not sure which side you favor, check out the twirling dancer. Even if you are sure, check her out anyway, because it’s fun. I first saw her several years ago and thought she was the coolest thing ever. When I look at her, she’s twirling clock-wise and that doesn’t change no matter how long I look. My husband sees her twirling counter-clock-wise. Some people see her going both ways. If you see her going clock-wise, you’re likely a right-brainer. (new technical term) If you see her rotating counter-clock-wise, you’re likely a left-brainer.(another new technical term) If you see her rotating both ways or can change her direction at will, my guess is that the difference in which side you use isn’t that great.

Take a minutes, stare at the pretty lady and see which way you swing.  Happy twirling!

Dancer

About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Which Way Do You Swing?

  1. Kenike says:

    Whoa! I can see both…but mostly clockwise. Its much harder for me to do counterclockwise and to keep it that way.

  2. Clockwise. I can’t even make myself see her different. Guess I’m unbalanced, like you, Diana. LOL!

  3. Eric Pflum says:

    You had me with Which Way Do You Swing, then your article got all left brain on me. At least the twirling, “nude” woman (how many of you noticed that) who was clearly going clockwise was swinging. Yikes. I always thought I had a good balance of right and left brain but I could not make her swing the other way no matter how hard I tried. Maybe that’s why I got a divorce. Oh, another story. My right brain is unrelenting. See you at Novel Group. Eric

  4. Char Bishop says:

    I’ve always been fascinated by this left-brain/right-brain stuff. I was told that really good artists/authors/creative types, were not only creative but could manage their business affairs ($$$).
    Sounds like a premium balance to me! I saw her twirl both ways–I hope that’s good! Hmmm…could being a Libra have something to do with that? Well, I guess that’s a whole ‘nother subject.

    • Char, I think you’re probably better balanced than the rest of us. However, I have another friend who can see her twirl both ways and ‘balanced’ is not a word I would use to describe her.
      What I want to know is, which way is she really going and who thought this up to begin with?

  5. She seems so peaceful and graceful. That’s what I noticed first. Then she’s stuck (in my right-brainer mind) in a clockwise rotation. But very peacefully. That part’s a no-brainer (is that another scientific term?)!

    Very interesting post, Diana!

  6. molly says:

    The silhouette swings both ways – first-up withershins, then clockwise – this is really neat, Diana and its hypnotic if I flick direction back ‘n forth, cheers catchul8r molly

  7. I took a look at your blog & decided that when I get cranky, I’m going to look at the elephant taking a shower. That’s one happy animal.

  8. unikorna says:

    The dancer in the image seems very undecided, it’s true. But I am definitely a right brainer :).

  9. Twirling … twirling … lwirling … interesting post.
    Enjoyed it,
    Isadora

  10. Val says:

    That’s very odd. I can see her going clockwise, but the last time I looked at this animation was when I was on an anti-hypertension drug and I saw her going both ways!

    I came over via Lorna’s Voice, by the way.

  11. Mmm… Would a hypertension drug make a difference? I wish I could see her going both ways. I feel like I’m missing out on something.
    Thanks for stopping by.

  12. hawleywood40 says:

    Definitely, relentlessly clockwise. This is so cool : )!

  13. alchemyofscrawl says:

    During a Masters class, we took some informal tests that were supposed to tell us what side of the brain we used most and I was in the middle, when my prof. SWORE I was hanging in out in left field. hehe It’s interesting stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

