Life Is What We Make It

Everyone has days when life seems too big to handle. You know–too much to do, too many interruptions, too many problems, too many people depending on you–just too much of everything. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been tempted to climb on my horse, ride off into the sunset and never look back. Fortunately, I don’t own a horse, have limited experience in riding one and I’m not particularly adventurous when it comes to braving the elements. 

A few years ago, we had a four-generation household which isn’t all that unusual these days. I was taking care of an ill and aging parent, a son who was off work because of a shoulder injury and an extremely energetic grandchild. As those of you who have been in similar situations know, these multiple-generation households can get a bit stressful.  Especially for the caregiver. I couldn’t change the situation. This was my family and I was thankful we were able to offer them a place to live. But I was desperate for a little serenity. Serenity can be illusive. Particularly when Matlock is blaring from the television in the family room and Sponge Bob Squarepants is blaring from the television upstairs. The acoustics in a house with tiled floors and vaulted ceilings can be enough to make your head explode.

Strangely enough, I found my road to serenity by listening to the television. Some psychic was on a talk show and she said that every New Year’s Eve she would write down on a piece of paper what she wanted to happen during the coming year, set it on fire and send the ashes into the Universe. It wasn’t going to cost me anything and I had reached a point where I figured anything was worth a try.

I have to admit that I felt a little ridiculous, but on Dec. 31, I wrote down the words, Grant me peace and serenity on a piece of notebook paper, put a match to it, set it on an old plate and watched it burn. (I would recommend doing this outside)  After the ashes cooled, I dumped them in the backyard which I decided was the easiest way of giving them back to the Universe. I wasn’t really expecting it to work, but for some unfathomable reason it did.  There were still challenges. With four males from the ages of 4 to 81, three dogs, three cats and me, all living in the same household, there had to be moments of chaos. But I was better able to deal with them, my mind stayed relatively calm and my sanity remained mostly intact. 

After reading The Laws of Attraction and The Secret I realized that the principles are much the same, though they take it much further than I do and I’ve never asked the Universe for material things. I’m not particularly analytical and I’ve decided that it doesn’t really matter why it works. As long as it does, I’m going to keep on doing it.

You may think I’m a little nuts and I probably am, but my suggestion is to try it and see what happens. It doesn’t have to be on New Year’s Eve. I don’t think the Universe imposed any restrictions on when this can be done. You do need to exercise a little caution as you do anytime you’re dealing with fire. As an example, last summer, I was seriously ill (I hadn’t been keeping up with my little bonfires) and in the hospital. My daughter-in-law and best friend came to see me. After they left, they lit papers in my backyard, asked the Universe for my recovery, and managed set the tablecloth on my patio table on fire. Fortunately, they were able to put it out before any major damage was done. The next day, they told me about it and I almost laughed my tubes out. Did it work? I’m still here.

So what do you guys think about this whole thing?  (1)Am I little nuts? (2)Is it a coincidence? (3)Or is there a larger force at work here that we can connect with and direct our lives accordingly?

About Diana Douglas

Diana Douglas, author. Coorganizer of the Arizona Novel Writers Workshop. Member Arizona Historical Novel Society, Member BooksGoSocial Authors, Transplanted Texan. http://www.meetup.com/Arizona-Writers-Workshop-com http://twitter.com/#!/themodernscribe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Life Is What We Make It

  1. Denise says:

    I think it works. It just doesn’t always work in the way we expect. So I think we have to be careful about our expectations and what we ask for, and be ready for the delivery of our request in different and sometimes unrecognizable packaging.

    For example, when I was working at my last job, I was feeling overwhelmed and overburdened and though I loved my job, I was tired and upset that it was stealing my creative energy and time and leaving me with almost nothing to put towards my writing. My schedule was so wacky I couldn’t even take a writing class. So I asked the universe for some help in getting back to writing. My ceremony was simply talking aloud to the universe several times, I didn’t use the paper/burn method, though I have in the past. Anyway, I ended up losing my job and was unemployed for over a year, finally taking a job I thought I didn’t want last October because I needed to settle and have some actual income.

    In hind sight, the universe gave me what I asked for. And not just “time to write” because I was unemployed (which is when I started the writing group and met all you, btw), but also now, at the current job. I find it stress free and steady and a bit of a no-brainer, which is the opposite of my last job, and allows me to come home from work with energy and resevoirs of creativeness that I direct into my writing.

    Lately, I have an intention candle which I have blessed with my goals. And I light it when I am doing mega writing sessions. I notice I can often get more written when it is lit.

    • You’re right, it doesn’t always happen the way we expect it, or even want it to and it doesn’t always happen right away, but I’ve been blown away by some of the results. I try to do it once a week. When I get lazy and don’t keep up with it, life gets more difficult. It never fails.
      I’m going to try the intention candle. Thanks for bringing it up.

      • Denise says:

        Cool. I think you can do it however you want, but if you want a copy of the directions I used for the candle, just let me know.

  2. The Universe is always listening, but we are not always able to hear the Universe over the sounds of our own chaos.

  3. Mike Hershberger says:

    Diana, I always enjoy your blogs…keep up the good work

  4. Larger force at work–that’s my feeling. You’re not nuts! I once dipped my toe in some Mayan manifestation work with the seasons. Be careful what you ask for! All I asked for was peace. Within the year my marriage broke apart. It’s not what I expected, but it is the thing that brought me closer to peace than anything I could have imagined!

    Larger force…respect it and believe in it!

    • I have to ask–What’s Mayan manifestation work with the seasons? It sounds very cool.
      I’m glad it all worked out for you, though I would guess it didn’t seems like such a great thing at the time.

  5. 1 and 3. Yes you are a little nutty. (Who isn’t.) It’s kind of a requirement of life, don’t you think? And yes, the Universe listens to us. We get more of whatever we focus on. So we better focus on what we what more of, whether it’s by buring a piece of paper with our intentions written on it, or prayer of a more traditional sort. 🙂

  6. It’s so simple, but very few people ask for what they want. They tend to focus on why they can’t have it, so of course it never happens. It’s a very unproductive way to spend one’s time.

    • Denise says:

      The problem is often that what people need and what they think they want can be very different. And, often people don’t even know what they want to then ask for it.

  7. Eric Pflum says:

    A little?

  8. Okay, more than a little, but I think it’s very rude of you to say so. I may go back and critique your last chapter again. That is, if I have enough red ink.
    Just kidding.

  9. Char Bishop says:

    Yes, it’s the law of attraction. That’s why it’s difficult to be around writers who say they write just for fun because they know they’ll never get published. And they won’t get published if they don’t think they will. So, you are certainly right, it starts out with believing.

  10. Maybe it’s a little of everything that makes it work? I’ve been know to be superstitious a time or two.

  11. molly says:

    i’ve seen witchity-grub friends work manifestation magic – me, i keep to the ‘kiss’ rule in my requests of a benevolent universe – the intention candle concept appeals, cheers catchul8r molly

Leave a Reply

